Starting igetter
< Last Thread     Next Thread >
Author
Thread    Post New Thread     Post A Reply

10-26-2008 01:56 PM

Posted by:
Linda

Find more posts by Linda

I am new to using a download manager. I purchased this so that I can avoid exceeding the Fair Access policy with my internet provider by downloading large items like software updates, audiobooks etc during slow traffic times.

I have installed igetter, but I don't know how to start the downloading process. The "Getting Started" section of the help page is confusing. I am not a computer wiz, but do have a basic understanding. Is it supposed to be this complicated to get started? Can someone help by maybe giving me a chain of commands to get started. Also, if I set the time of downloads during a specific time, does that mean that everything that I download will be put off until that time or can I specify which items I want done at a certain time? Help would be greatly appreciated!

10-27-2008 10:12 AM

Posted by:
iGetter Support

Find more posts by iGetter Support

Hello Linda,
To download files with iGetter, first you need to add some download URL (link to software updates, audiobooks, etc.) to iGetter. There are several ways to add an URL to iGetter (dragging a download link from Safari over the iGetter icon, using Safari's contextual menu command "Download with iGetter", etc.), but the most easiest way is to turn on the "Integrate with Internet browsers" Tools menu function. Now instead of your browser's download manager will appear iGetter. By default iGetter will intercept only the following files: sit, bin, hqx, zip, gz, tgz,dmg (set in the iGetter preferences, Integration panel). The following Apple updates page is a good source for download URLs:
http://www.apple.com/support/downloads/

Next, you have to start your downloads: