< Last Thread     Next Thread >
Author
Thread    Post New Thread     Post A Reply

01-05-2002 01:40 PM

Posted by:
Jeff

Find more posts by Jeff

Greetings,

I've been using iGetter for several months now. I currently have version 1.6. These last few revs I've been noticing a problem with the Download Location preference. That's not to suggest I think it's a new problem, but rather something which has caught my attention because I'm tooling around with the Download preference these past few revs.

P R O B L E M

My newly added downloads do not go to the Default Download Folder, after I specify a new location. And, when I do change the Download location, I find I have have to restart iGetter in order for any 'new' http downloads to match the new location. This appears to be happening pretty consistently.

D E S C R I P T I O N / S T E P S

Starting without any new downloads, I go into preferences and specify my download folder for my next batch of say 20 downloads. Once specified I will click Set, re-open the Preferences and make sure it still shows my selected folder. In some past cases it reverted back to the previous folder, so I double-check before proceeding with my downloads.

I then go to the web page with my downloads, and begin clicking on them, and they add into my iGetter queue. When I begin either a manual or Automate download, they DO NOT go into my specified folder. But rather to the 'previous' folder set, before my change. In many cases my downloads even ended up in the Igetter application folder.

As a result I then have to stop my download, open the Item Settings for each download, and manually reset the Download location. Once done my manual and automated downloads will go to the right place.

The only way I've been able to avoid this problem is by setting my new download folder and restart Igetter, then add my downloads.

T H O U G H T S ?